The Official Website of the South Carolina High School Soccer Coaches Association

Dick Walsh Award

SCHSSCA Service Award

The Dick Walsh Award is the ultimate honor a supporter of South Carolina High School soccer can receive and is awarded by the South Carolina High School Soccer Coaches Association in recognition of Mr. Richard Walsh who was a pioneer for youth soccer in the Lowcountry of the Palmetto State.

Walsh was involved in South Carolina high school soccer officiating and scheduling for almost 30 years. He officiated baseball and football for 25 years, as well as basketball and volleyball. His competence was rewarded by officiating a number of state championship matches. In 1994, he received the South Carolina Soccer Officials Association's "Loyal Services Award".

Walsh, who was killed in a tragic accident at a youth soccer tournament, embodied a "soccer volunteer" as he dedicated his services through refereeing, coaching, administration, etc., so that youth soccer would persevere in South Carolina. He was the recipient of the first S.C. High School Soccer Coaches Association's SERVICE AWARD that now bears his name in recognition of his contributions to high school soccer. The SCHSSCA incorporated the award in 1999.

  • 2022 - TBA
  • 2019 - Sean Vick, Eastside HS, Christ Church Episcopal, Clinton HS, Mid-Carolina HS
  • 2018 - Katie Clampitt, North-South Soccer Classic Director, Brookland-Cayce HS
  • 2017 - Ralph Polson, Wofford College Men's Soccer Coach, United Soccer Coaches President
  • 2016 - Dennis Cook, Midlands Referee Assignor
  • 2015 - Ralph Lundy, College of Charleston Men's Soccer Coach
  • 2014 - Twig Gray, Fellowship of Christian Athletes
  • 2013 - Marc Lloyd, Lloyd's Soccer
  • 2012 - Tom Reilly, Wando HS
  • 2011 - Linda Smith, Long Time Volunteer
  • 2010 - Troy Bennage, R.B. Stall HS, Academic Magnet HS
  • 2009 - David Easley,, Brookland-Cayce HS
  • 2008 - Wayne Quinlan, Eastside HS, Dutch Fork HS, Hilton Head Island HS
  • 2007 - Dick Smith, T.L. Hanna HS
  • 2006 - Frank Ridlehoover, Eastside HS, Dorman HS, Gaffney HS
  • 2005 - Kevin Heise, Brookland-Cayce HS, Gray Collegiate Academy
  • 2004 - Rich Lloyd, Lloyd's Soccer
  • 2003 - Scott Ruggles, Stratford HS
  • 2002 - William Hosea, Riverside HS, J.L. Mann HS
  • 2001 - Kyle Heise,, Brookland-Cayce HS, Gray Collegiate Academy
  • 2000 - John 'JR' Murphy, Columbia Attorney/FCA Facilitator
  • 1999 - Richard 'Dick' Walsh, Lowcountry Referee



Lloyd's Soccer

North-South Soccer Classic

SC Athletic Administrators Association

Clash of the Carolinas